I AM THANKFUL – 2013

ThanksgivingThe apostle Paul wrote, “in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).

Here are a few of the many things for which I am thankful at this season of Thanksgiving in the year 2013.

I am thankful for the life God has given me and for all the things I have experienced in it – the good as well as the bad. They have in great measure made me what I am today.

I am thankful to God for allowing me to know Him and the salvation He has given me as a gift of His grace through Christ Jesus, my Lord.

I am thankful for the years I have been able to devote to service in God’s kingdom and for all the encouragement I have received from so many others along the way.

I am thankful for good health. For a man of my years – 76 of them now – I have very few health issues. God has blessed me with soundness of mind with which I continue to be able to write and hopefully leave a legacy of faith for future generations.

I am thankful for the memory of my parents. They, in more ways than I can count, molded me and set me on the right path in life.

I am thankful for a good family. I am thankful that all three of our children are responsible, respectable citizens contributing to the well-being of others. And of course I am thankful for four wonderful grandchildren who will be with us this holiday – if not in presence, then in our heart.

I am thankful for the memory of my loving and faithful wife who shared almost 54 years of life with me. I am thankful that she was a faithful, well loved Christian and a friend to so many children and their families. I am thankful for the hope I have of seeing her again some wonderful day.

I am thankful for now having been blessed with the love of another wonderful Christian lady with whom I look forward to sharing happy times and memorable experiences in the future.

I thank God for the special people He has brought into my life – especially for one good friend and brother with whom I share so much. (I will have more to say about this friend in an announcement I will be making soon).

I am thankful for the things I have that give me a measure of comfort. For a roof over my head, for good food and for the conveniences that make life easier. God, help me to be content with these.

I am thankful for the many friends I have known. I still treasure these wonderful people and honor the memory of those friends who have gone on to be with the Lord. Today, more than ever, I am reminded of the value of friends. I could not have made it through the past year without the Lord and the many, many good friends who have stood beside me, prayed for me and lifted me up as I have striven to serve the Lord in the way He has called me to serve.

And last, but not least, a heartfelt “Thank you” to all my many Facebook friends who read my ramblings. I have had numerous of people tell me personally that they read my posts regularly. So many of you have clicked that “like” button or made comments, and I thank you for that. I consider a “like” as an “amen!” I heard it said years ago that saying “amen” to a preacher is like saying “sic ‘em” to a dog! Just know that I appreciate it every time you let me know when I have said something that helps you. All this makes what I am doing one of the most rewarding things I have ever done – and one of the most enjoyable!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

(Modified and Re-posted from Thanksgiving 2010.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

