An Appeal

Luke Winter

I am sending out this appeal for a special friend. I have known Luke Winter and his family since he was just a little boy. He is now 18 and a senior in high school. Luke’s father died not too long ago and his mother, Elizabeth Winter, is the family’s sole support. He is a very sick young man, a patient at Vanderbilt University Medical Center awaiting a heart transplant. He is on standby both at Vanderbilt and at Jewish Hospital in Louisville.

I know from experience how devastating catastrophic illness can be. Aside from medical and hospital expenses, the family has travel, lodging and dining and other expenses. A year and a half ago an appeal went out on behalf of my wife who was hospitalized with a devastating illness. People overwhelmed us with love, giving far beyond what we ever expected. It meant so much to us, not only in relieving me of the burden of her medical expense, but to know that so many people cared so much.

Now I am asking in behalf of this family. Luke is a fine, deserving young man. I am confident that my many friends and brothers and sisters in the Lord will respond to his needs just as so many of you did for me when I was in need. I also ask that you share this appeal with other Facebook friends.

Checks should be made to Elizabeth Winter with memo to be deposited to Luke Winter’s account and should be mailed to Edmonton State Bank, 213 North Main Street, Tompkinsville, KY 42167.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

